Free CPD · Verified
Digital Skills & Free CPD Directory
Free AI and digital training for educators and learners, checked against each provider’s official site on 7 November 2026. Where a detail wasn’t confirmed, it says “not verified” — always check the provider’s current terms before signing up.
Every entry below awards badges, statements of participation or completion certificates. None is a regulated qualification. The OpenLearn course carries CPD accreditation (24 CPD points). Check whether your employer recognises a badge before counting it as CPD evidence.
For educators
| Provider & resource | What it is | Cost | Account / age | Credential |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DfE AI support materials gov.uk collection |
Generative AI support materials for school and college staff — four staff modules plus a set for leaders. Updated 19 May 2026 for the 2026–27 year. | Free | No account stated | None — support materials |
| Microsoft Learn Educator Center AI for education |
Educator trainings and free AI resources, including the AI classroom toolkit (ages 13–15) and Reading Coach. | Free | Not verified | None stated |
| ETF Enhance Digital Teaching Platform ETF Learning Library · enhance.etfoundation.co.uk |
FE digital teaching modules, including EdTech and AI content. The ETF moved to a single login (“MyETF”) in 2026 — the Learning Library is the booking home for CPD. Note: the Enhance site itself was unreachable when checked on 7 Nov 2026 — use the Learning Library link. | Free | Free account | Participation badges |
| Jisc / AoC FE AI principles Jisc blog (Mar 2024) |
Six principles for AI-enabled FE — guidance reading, not a course. | Free | None | None |
| OpenLearn: Digital skills — succeeding in a digital world Open University |
Level 1 introductory badged course; ~24 hours (8 weeks × 3). Digital identity, online safety, finding and using information. | Free | Optional (start without); no age requirement stated | OU badge + Statement of Participation; CPD-accredited, 24 points. Badge not OU-accredited. |
For educators and learners
| Provider | What it is | Cost | Account / age | Credential |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Skills Boost (UK government) aiskillshub.org.uk · GOV.UK announcement |
Free practical AI skills courses for every UK adult (announced 28 Jan 2026), benchmarked against Skills England’s foundation skills framework. Courses run 20 minutes to 9 hours. Note: the wider hub catalogue mixes free and paid courses — around 60% charge fees. Check each course page before enrolling. | Free for AI Skills Boost courses | Free learning profile (name, email, region); “UK adults” — no minimum age stated | Government-backed virtual AI foundations badge (selected courses only). Not a qualification. |
| IBM SkillsBuild / City & Guilds Foundation cityandguildsfoundation.org/skillsbuild |
Self-paced digital skills: AI, cybersecurity, web development, job readiness. UK access via City & Guilds Foundation. | Free | Register interest; age not stated | IBM-issued digital badges. Not a qualification. |
| Cisco Networking Academy netacad.com |
Free self-paced courses: AI, cybersecurity, networking, programming, digital literacy. | Free (most self-paced courses) | Account required; generally 13+ for learner accounts (younger via managed school accounts) | Shareable digital badges and completion certificates. Not CCNA/CCST certification. |
| HP LIFE life-global.org |
Free business and digital skills courses in eight languages, including AI topics, from the HP Foundation. | Free | “Join for free”; age not stated | Free Certificate of Completion per course |
| AWS Skill Builder skillbuilder.aws |
AWS cloud and AI training. 1,000+ free resources; some features need a Team subscription. | Mixed — check each course | Sign-in referenced; age not stated | Badges and microcredentials; completing training alone is not AWS Certification. |
| Google Applied Digital Skills applieddigitalskills.withgoogle.com |
Free video-lesson curriculum for teaching practical digital skills — classroom resource rather than a CPD course. | Free | Not verified | None stated |
| Raspberry Pi Foundation raspberrypi.org/learn |
Free coding and digital-creation projects for young people, including AI projects and Code Club guides. | Free | Not verified | None |
| Code for Life codeforlife.education |
Free gamified coding (Rapid Router) with coding-club packs for teachers and families. | Free | Not verified | Printable club certificates |
| freeCodeCamp freecodecamp.org |
Free, self-paced coding curriculum including AI engineering and cybersecurity, with verified certifications. | Free | Account to save progress; age not stated | Free verified certifications (project-based). Not a regulated qualification. |
Learner/course safety checks
Before signing a class up for anything: check the provider’s accessibility statement; whether content has captions and transcripts; the privacy and account terms; age requirements and safeguarding; whether a personal email is needed (and parental communication where required); and the difference between a certificate and a qualification. Where a field above says “not verified”, check the provider’s own terms — don’t take our word or anyone else’s.
Downloads
Directory last checked: 7 November 2026 · Next review: by May 2027 · Every provider page was checked on the date shown. Availability, prices, age limits and account rules change — always confirm on the provider’s official site before enrolling.